Registered Dental Assistants and Registered Dental Assistants in Extended Functions
Continuing Education Requirements
Dental Assisting licensees renewing for the first time are exempt from continuing education requirements. The minimum requirement for each renewal period after the first renewal is 25 hours of continuing education, including:
- Basic Life Support
- 2 hours of California Infection Control
- 2 hours of California Dental Practice Act
You may view and download the regulations regarding continuing education by clicking on this link: Title 16 California Code of Regulations Sections 1016 and 1017)
Note: Infection Control and California Dental Practice Act may be taken online at any of the registered continuing education web sites (below). No more than 12.5 Continuing Education hours can be completed through home study or other non-live instruction. Interactive courses such as live videoconferencing, live lecture and live workshop demonstrations may be used for all of the required units except for Basic Life Support course.
Out-of-State Continuing Education: Submit an application the Dental Board for course approval.
If your course has been approved by the American Heart Association, your certification is good for 2 years.
If your course has been approved by the American Red Cross, your certification is good for 1 year only.
Any course taken outside of these 2 groups needs approval by the California State Dental Board. Be sure to get documentation on this.
This is a Core Requirement (or old Category I)
Course must include:
- Basic Life Support
- Adult, child and infant CPR
- Demonstration and use of defibulator (AED)
- Heimlich maneuver
It should be designated for Health Care Professionals
It is not so much how many C.E units, or how long the course is, but who is approving it. It is recommended to take one approved by the American Heart association.
THE LICENSED PROVIDER MUST BE THROUGH THE DENTAL BOARD, OR THE C.E. DOES NOT COUNT! IF THEY ARE LICENSED THROUGH THE DENTAL BOARD A CPR RE-CERTIFICATION COURSE CAN BE UP TO (4) UNITS CREDIT.
Please note that the California Dental Board only approves LIVE American Heart Association or American Red Cross CPR courses, NOT on-line CPR.